It has been a really long time since I last posted, but the reason it has been so long is the reason I am writing today. Almost 4 weeks ago I went under the dreaded knife. Am I a woman anymore? Of course I am, I am just missing a baby making part of me as I decided, along with my Gyno doc, that it was time to remove the 'ol uterus. Man alive, it is the best thing ever! Tampon burning party, HERE I COME!!!!!! I think the first thing I said to my hubby after surgery was, would you like to have sex with a man? He looked at me like I was an idiot, but we laughed and he said, I am pretty sure you are still a woman. The week before surgery I really stressed about how I would feel afterwards. Would I regret doing it? Would I five years down the line decide that I should've sucked it up and had more kids? I swear, the next day after surgery I felt like a new lady! I knew this was the best decision I could have made. It just made me feel like our decision as a family for me not to ever be pregnant anymore was final!! I cannot have babies, and there is nothing I can do about it now. What a friggin relief. I definately dont feel guilty about it, I dont feel regretful, I finally feel happy that I am not going to be pregnant again. You cant be wishy washy about kids with no uterus. How do you like my picture? Did anyone else vomit in their mouth a little?? I am sure most men dont read this blog anyway, so women, here it is.
Right before surgery I was kind of looking forward to the few days I would be away in the hospital recovering. Is that sad? I was looking forward to surgery for a vacation. I think I need to talk to my hubby about that. I really needed a break, and I got one. I've never been on a vacation where I didnt need to do dishes, I was served each meal, given demerol every 4 hours, and my urine was neatly packed away in a bag. I didnt even need to use the washroom. What the heck! That's my kind of vacay. haha
I just have to wonder why women are so afraid of losing their uterus. I mean, I understand losing the ovaries, but the uterus? If you arent having babies, what do you want that torture device for anyway? I think a majority of women are crazy because of the period. It ruins everything! We need to pack an extra suitcase everywhere we go just in case of Aunt Flow. I know some women who wont have sex if they have a period! If that wouldnt make you crazy, I dont know what would.

The week after my surgery, Doctor Oz was on TV talking about hysterectomies. I was shocked by his program. I now wont watch his show cause I think he gave a completely one sided, rediculous show! THere were all these women on there talking about the surgery and how they wished they had never done it. He said it was the #1 most unnecessary surgery. Whatever, still happy I did it. Then he said, when men have erectile dysfuntion we dont cut off their penises, so why do we remove a woman's uterus just because of some problems. WHAT???????? Okay, I could be really crude here but I wont. I am pretty sure that my uterus is not the equivalent to a penis. Pretty sure I know what the equivalent is, and last time I checked, I still have it.....catching on??? Anyway, what a joke that was and now in my head, he is a quack. So anyone out there thinking about having this surgery and arent wanting more kids, DO IT!!! Freak, I still have my hormones, yes, I am as crazy as before, but I dont have a period. I am shouting for joy. Also, the recovery has been very manageable, I have no outside of the body incisions, so that is easy too.
Now, only 2 weeks of recovery left till I can resume normal life. I have had some amazing support from friends and family and am grateful to be so loved! I think that this is a long enough post about my insides, I wont make you keep reading. Thanks for listening

