Wednesday, February 10, 2010

Let these be old wives tales!


I had a one hour visit with Dr Therapist yesterday and I thought it went quite well. Although, she did say that my blog concerned her a little bit and wanted me to make sure I was doing it for all of the right reasons. So we discussed some reasons why it is good and why it is bad for me, so hopefully I am going to be writing for only healthy reasons....thank goodness I am not crazy...






I wanted to dedicate this post to the life of a stay at home mama. Some things have occurred to me as I have been a stay at home mama for 4 years now. I have had some interesting responses from people that have these preconcieved notions of what it means to be a stay at home mama. One: we stay at home eating bon bons and watching soap opera's. I am wondering where and when this idea started. I have done some thinking on it, and have come up with some answers which make sense in my own wacky mind. I would think that back in the day, like the 50's or so, a husband would come home from a long and exhausting day of work or since watching Mad Men, sleeping with the various women he comes across, to his wife sitting on the couch eating candy. I wonder, did she look a little bit glazed and disheveled? I get two things out of this whole eating bon bons and watching soap operas comment. I think to myself, why is she eating bon bons. Probably depressed, chocolate works wonders when you are depressed. She probably is exhausted and overwhelmed. First thing I do when I feel that way is EAT! Where are the kids?? Back in that day, probably outside playing in the street and she doesnt care, in our day, in their rooms or in front of the television in a totally different room than the mama. The watching soap opera's goes along with the bon bons, we just pick which one will distract us enough so that we dont ring those little hell raisers necks! Freak, if my husband doesnt come home to me eating bon bons or hiding away from the kids, then there is something terribly wrong and he better check that they are still breathing.
The other preconceived notion that just irks me more than anything is that our house should be spotless, dinner on the table when hubby gets home, and the kids perfect with a bow in their hair. The kids thing is just not going to happen, the amount of food that little girl puts in her hair is unbelieveable. To keep her spotless and snotless all day takes a heck of a lot of baths and work, that would be all I would be able to get done in a day. Dinner on the table can happen, some days. I will be the first to admit that I am not the most organized in the world, but really, getting dinner ready at a certain time would require children to stop being crazy at a certain time. How much cooperation do you see a stay at home mama getting for this?? Exactly, none!! I finally came to a realization, which makes me feel better, that children are not excited to see mama, we are always here. So, that means cooperation is usually to a minimum, which helps me understand why my house can get so insane. Now a spotless house is for those that are OCD, stressed out, stay at home mamas. I am waiting for that one to kick in, so I can have a tidy house. I say tidy because, my house is clean, but just not tidy all the time. This is going to be my only argument, and dont freak out, why keeping a tidy house is harder for a stay at home mama, then a working mama. My sweet little children are always here!! Believe me, I have tried begging my husband to put the kids in daycare so I can stay home and eat bon bons, all I got was a very dramatic eye roll. Anyway, when children are always here, they are always making a mess. If I had no friggin life, and followed them around all of the time, I could keep the house tidy, all of the time. That would just put me back in the catagory of crazy, which already gets me in trouble, and probably another session a week with Dr Therapist. She doesnt want that either!! So, I let them run around like wild banshees, screaming, and throwing toys around the house, and I quite frankly do something else. I like it like that. Annoying, that just made me think of a song that I cant get out of my head. Okay, so my house is a disaster. Working mama's house only has kids running around like wild banshees for a couple of hours tops, because they are eating at one point after they get home, reading stories, having baths, and going to bed. I could keep that house tidy. Just pick it all up before you go to bed and whammo, your house is back to Martha Stewart like magic for the rest of the next day. You dont even have to clean toilets as much, who is peeing in them?? No one! HEAVEN. Granted, you arent home to enjoy this cleanliness, and yes, I chose this life, but we could argue till the cows come home. Your house is still cleaner. So quit judging, I am not a freak, just a stressed out mama. Yes, I am talking to my hubby's employee that made a complaint about their sister in law not being clean enough and getting supper ready at the correct time. I mean what does she do all day, she has a 4 year old and her house is a mess. Well, bring it on employee who is what, 18 years old and has no children??? Please, dont start. It is hard enough doing this without ending up in the insane asylum! We don't need anyone telling us how inadaquate we are at doing this job, we do it enough to ourselves! That is all I am going to talk about today, because, this post is already long, I dont want to bore you, and quite possibly I am being neglectful while I write.

No comments:

Post a Comment